Skip to content

17/06/2016 News

Total Nigeria Plc Wins the ADAM SMITH 2016 Best-in-Class Treasury Solution in Africa Award!

Total Nigeria Plc emerged overall winner of the Adam Smith Best in Class Treasury Solution in Africa Award 2016. The Adam Smith Awards are the ultimate industry benchmark for achievement in Corporate Treasury.

This laudable achievement clearly stands Total Nigeria plc out as an organisation with seasoned crop of treasury experts that possesses in-depth knowledge of Corporate Treasury practice across Africa and by extension, the globe. The standard for the 2016 submissions was very high with 219 nominations spanning across 19 countries. 

While nominating Total Nigeria Plc for this year’s award, Citi Bank had this to say: “Treasury Today’s Adam Smith Awards is the largest corporate treasury awards programme and recognises the very best and brightest in the industry.  For 2016, our panel of judges will again be looking for solutions that truly demonstrate exceptional best practice and innovation in the corporate treasury arena. Now in its ninth year, an Adam Smith Award is the ultimate industry benchmark for corporate achievement....” 

Total Nigeria Plc indeed came out tops, truly demonstrating exceptional best practice and innovation with its E-bills / Auto-Receipting solutions implemented in 2015.

Total Nigeria plc, alongside Citibank as her nomination partner on this award, was presented with the Adam Smith Crystal award at a Gala Presentation Lunch on Thursday, June 16, 2016 at Gibson Hall in London.

Mr. Wilfried Konde, Executive Director (Finance and Development) Total Nigeria Plc said “the award certifies that in Total Nigeria in general and especially in the Finance Division, we have talented, innovative, cross-functional and dedicated staff. It is an international recognition which we are very proud of. We have worked very hard to develop this solution that resulted in material savings for the company, strengthens the internal control and simplifies our cash management process.  The award is also an incitement to continue the innovation journey. Congratulations to my team. I am so proud of leading such a team”.